Honey Mustard Chicken

I borrowed an idea from my friend Nancy  and decided to try a new recipe each week to add some new life to the weekly meal rotation.  I always check allrecipes.com.  The site has a really helpful tool that allows you to search for recipes by what ingredients you already have.  Well, it’s been a tough week to get to the grocery store around here (we have had over 2 feet of snow) and so I cruised on over to allrecipes and typed in chicken & mustard LOL!

It was almost a joke at first, but then I ended up finding this recipe that I made & am happy to report that it will make a cameo in the weekly menu more often.  It’s easy, tasty, and pretty healthy.  I used this recipe as a base, and tweeked it to my own taste.

Pre heat the oven to 350

one pack of boneless skinless chicken breasts.  It only had 3 so I cut them in half

salt & pepper

1/3c honey (the recipe called for 1/2 but it was too sweet)

1/2c mustard (I used spicy)

1t basil

1t parsley

a pinch of crushed red pepper

1/2t season salt

1/2t yellow mustard powder

***********************************

Whisk everything but the salt, pepper, & chicken.  It will be thick at first.

What’s your weekly go to recipe?

Keep on mixing until it gets smoother and thinner.  It will.

Taste it at this point to see if you need more mustard, honey, pepper, etc. That’s when I decided to add this:

Next, I put the chicken into the glass dish, and sprinked both sides with some S&P love

Pour 1/2 of your honey mustard mixture on top of the chicken.  I used a large glass measuring cup to mix my ingredients to make this step a little neater.  It has a spout, so I didn’t make the mess that I usually do.

I baked this for about 20 minutes since I only used 3 chicken breasts.  The original recipe called for 6 and a longer cooking time.

When you take it out, flip the chicken, then pour the remaining mixture over it.  Bake for another 10 minutes (or until chicken is cooked all the way through).

I served it with rice.

17 responses to “Honey Mustard Chicken

  1. This recipe looks great. Sorry to hear about what the snow did to your home. So glad that you all are okay and hope you will be able to get the damaged fixed quickly.

  2. Diggin the recipe! I used to bake chicken all the time but got sick of it but this looks like it’s jumping with flavor and quick, we like!

    • It’s easy to get sick of baked chicken. I used to gag from the consistency. This was juicy & tender. The sauce made it more like a “dish” not like a hunk of chicken on a plate. I’m awesome with analogies LOL! I’ll translate. That was Mindy for it tastes good.
      xo
      Mindy

  3. Have you checked out foodgawker.com? I found it recently and there are a bunch of good recipes on there!!

  4. nom nom nom. I have tried this honey mustard chicken before and I love it. It is by far one of my favorite recipes. I actually haven’t made it in a while and you reminded me.

  5. This looks good and easy! I love allrecipes for the rating feature.

  6. How clever!!? Mustard and chicken haha you sound like me. I have typed in worse I think. That looks so good and I am such a sucker for rice cooked in chicken broth. Not sure if that is but it looks like it haha. I really like this recipe! Well done girl!

  7. Min… that was me… it looks goooood!

  8. min, that looks gooooood!

  9. Yum! That’s a great idea to check allrecipes.com for something you can make with stuff you already have on hand. Because going to the grocery in all that snow is just not fun!
    I love that plate your dinner is on too!

Let's talk it out

