Chicken & Veggie Soup

It’s SPRING, and it’s the time of year that I tighten up my eating habits & crack down in the gym.  Bikini season is right around the corner 😉 .

I was thumbing through Muscle & Fitness Hers Magazine, and I found a recipe for chicken soup.   Of course I tweaked it a bit.  It was a rainy, chilly, dreary day.  Perfect for soup!  I don’t know about you guys, but when the weather is yucky, I don’t feel like cooking.  I decided that morning that it was going to be a crockpot night.  I love coming home to find dinner all made! 

Here’s what I did:

First, I put a package of organic boneless, skinless chicken brest in the pot.

I added an entire 32 ounce carton of organic, low-sodium, fat-free chicken stock.  I always use the low-sodium so I can control the amount of salt in the soup.  The regular kind is soooo salty!

Next, I chopped up a head of celery.  The recipe called for 1 cup, but I ended up adding the rest after I measured it out, because I like celery.

I tossed in about a cup of baby carrots. Next, I cut up 2 zucchinis in half first, then into bite-size pieces.

1 teaspoon of minced garlic.  I use jarred minced garlic.  It’s a time saver and my fingers don’t stink all day.

I bought a package of pre-sliced mushrooms because I’m lazy like that 😉

2 Bay leaves

I would have added an onion if I had one, but I didn’t.  The recipe called for rice,  I cubed one potato instead.

Add 1T parsley and salt & pepper to taste.

I felt like it was missing something, so I dumped a bag of spinach in.

I am a mess in the kitchen!  I stuffed the spinach in and put the lid on the slow cooker. I put in on low and set the timer for 8 hours.

When I got home from work, I removed the chicken and shredded it with two forks.

I threw the chicken back in, and gave it a stir for a few minutes.

This soup is really hearty and super filling.  It’s pretty low-carb and low-fat.

I topped mine with a tablespoon of grated cheese.

I know I say it all the time, but I love my crockpot.

13 responses to “Chicken & Veggie Soup

  1. this soup is DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Pingback: What’s Cooking At Finding Silver Linings? | Finding Silver Linings

  3. I’ve been looking for a good, healthy chicken soup recipe! Looks like I found it! Looks delicious. Can’t wait to make it!

  4. Mmm…I love chicken soup, especially on those dreary days. It’s April, why are we still having those anyway?

  5. This sounds so easy to make….am definitely going to try and make this one…

  6. Oooohhh I love soups! Pretty much dumping everything in…minimum effort, minimum washing. But oh so hearty and yum!

  7. Mmm looks so good!! I really need to get a crock pot!

  8. I’m totally making this!!! Sounds SO good. I made your Italian Chicken and it was amazing! I can’t wait to dig out the slow cooker again. [Note: when I read your Italian chicken recipe it actually made me break down and buy a new slow cooker and I’m so glad I did!]

Let's talk it out

