Christine’s Heathy Sweet Potato Salad

About 4 years ago, I met Christine.  We met because we worked together, but we became friends because we shared an interest in fitness and healthy eating.  One day she brought a tupperware container full of this amazing sweet potato salad for me to try. I have to admit, I hate(d) potato salad.  I don’t like mayonnaise.  This didn’t seem like something I’d be in love with.  But, I tried it to be polite…plus you never know until you try 🙂  Oh. My. Gah!  This was light,  had a sweet and salty thing going on, plus it was packed with lean protein and complex carb action from the sweet potato.  I begged her for the recipe & now I’m sharing it with you guys.  Thanks Christine!

Ingredients:
2 lbs sweet potatoes
4 hardboiled whole eggs
6 hardboiled eggs (just the whites)
1/4 large vidalia onion
8 slices of cooked turkey bacon
1/2c reduced fat mayo
salt & pepper to taste
I add a bit of crushed red pepper
Directions:
1. Peel the sweet potatoes and cut them into bite size cubes.  Boil them and toss into large bowl.
2. Hard boil the 10 eggs.  Remove and discard the yolks of 6 of the eggs, leaving just the whites. Add the eggs to the bowl.
3. Give the 1/4 vidalia onion a rough chop, toss into bowl.
4. Cut up the 8 pieces of turkey bacon into bite size pieces, add them into the bowl, also.
5. Stir in the mayo.
6. Mix all the ingredients together well. Add salt & pepper to taste
10 responses to “Christine’s Heathy Sweet Potato Salad

  1. Pingback: Smashed Hot Sweet Potatoes | ThatsZoGood.

  2. Pingback: Smashed Hot Sweet Potatoes « ThatsZoGood

  3. Wow, I’m not a huge mayo fan but yeah, I may need to try this. I like potato salad but have never even heard of sweet potato salad. Score!

  4. I love anything sweet potato!

  5. I have all those ingredients in my house! Looks like I may be trying a new recipe today! Thanks!

  6. It was DELICIOUS!

  7. Ummm… I’ve been dying for potatoe salad… this looks amazing!

Let's talk it out

