Nutella Filled Cupcakes

I know what you’re thinking.

Is there a Nutella 12 step program for poor Mindy?  Check me into the Betty Crocker clinic.  Now.

I was going to bake biscotti for my nephew’s football tailgate party on Sunday (the theme was Italian).  Well, I took Mr. FSL out on the town for a surprise b-day soiree the night before.  Prior to our eventful evening, we had a couple of people over and thoroughly enjoyed a zillion few pumpkin spice pudding shots.

You can see where this is going.

The biscotti never happened.  Nope.  I am a flake.  Instead, I panicked, scoured our pantry, thought about running to the Italian bakery was resourceful.  I had a box of yellow cake mix… and Nutella.

If you have a sweet recipe for yellow cake, by all means, go for it!  If you are lazy like me, head to the box.

Add a little less water than the box (or recipe) calls for.  It will come out better if the mix is a bit stiff.  Of course, I forgot this step.    Mix it up!

Fill up your baking cups with your cake batter.

Plop in a spoonful of Nutella in the center of each cup.

Using a knife, a toothpick, or something pointy, swirl it a little bit.

Bake according to box (or recipe).

I probably could have dusted them with powdered sugar or frosted them with Nutella.  Hmmm… maybe next time.

This is a little embarrassing because there is no insanely delicious looking, ooey, gooey Nutella photo here where there should be.  Um, they were completely gone by the time I remembered.  Just try these, you’ll understand 😉

The outcome isn’t the prettiest cupcake I’ve ever seen, but if it tastes that good,I don’t care if it looks like Rocco’s food

4 responses to “Nutella Filled Cupcakes

  1. I will certainly find this very handy! Thanks Mindy 🙂

  2. Julia (AKA Jules)

    yum, that looks and sounds delicious!!! Shame I’m on a diet…

    jules
    http://wordshakermag.wordpress.com

  3. I have mixed feelings about Nutella. I think it’s kind of good but mostly weird. Can we still be friends?

Let's talk it out

