Bling Bling

I promised a few people the mushy lovey dovey  post. Here it is. One year ago, on one of my favorite holidays (Black Friday), was the day that my now husband and I got engaged.  Here’s the whole story:

We agreed that we were going to buy a house before we got engaged.  We had put an offer in on a house (which the offer fell through eventually).  Anthony was dragging his feet a bit with the house as if he didn’t want to buy it anymore.  It was exactly what we were looking for.  I was freeeeeaking out   just a little nervous because I thought he suddenly was having second thoughts about us living together.  (it turns out, he was saving for a ring, not a down payment)

Thanksgiving day he and I ran a 5 mile race. That night, my mother, aunt, and I went “Midnight Madness” shopping until around 3:30AM.  The next day I was completely exhausted. We went to his sister’s house for a birthday party which lasted into the evening. Anthony told me to wear something nice in case we met our friends out for a drink.  The birthday party lasted much longer than I had expected and I was beat.  I never do this, but I told him I didn’t want to meet our friends out, I was too tired. He insisted, and said they were already on their way to the restaurant/bar (which was a 30 minute drive for us).  I agreed. 

We were getting off of the exit, and he got a text message from our friend.  He said “You’ve got to be kidding.  You’re gonna kill me.  They are blowing us off” (a staged text from his friend that was in on the surprise) I was so mad!  He said not to worry, we’ll grab one drink at the first place we see off the exit, and then we’ll go home.  Well we might as well, we did drive all the way out here.

We pulled into the parking lot, and I realized it was the place we went on our first date!  I said “Hey! I thought this place closed down!”  He said he thought so too.  We walked in, he got us both a drink and we sat down on the couch in front of the fireplace way in the back (the same place we sat on our first date). 

He’s usually very quiet, so when there was a dj there playing loud music, it didn’t bother me.  He said it was too loud, and we wouldn’t be able to talk to each other without yelling.  He asked the dj to lower the music and he requested “They way you look tonight” by Frank Sinatra (I love Frank Sinatra)

So he sits back down, and as he’s talking, he was pushing the coffee table away from him.  He started to kneel down (I was NOT expecting this so I thought he was going to tie his shoe or something) and the next thing I knew, I looked down and he had a ring in his hand!!!  I sat there in complete disbelief for a few seconds.  I started crying and said yes! 

We later met my sister and her boyfriend out to celebrate!

That was about an hour after I said yes.  I was cheezin so hard! Aint he cute?!  Sorry ladies, he’s taken.

How did your fiance or husband pop the question??

xo

Mindy

15 responses to “Bling Bling

  1. Awww, how sweet! Engagement stories get me every time!

  2. Pingback: Challenge time | Finding Silver Linings

  3. I got all teary eyed when I read this

  4. i have great photography skills 🙂

  5. Oh wow!!! tha’ts SOOOOO romantic.

    I’d share a wonderfully romantic story but the only ring I was given I snooped, found, had a panic attack. lol Uh oh!

  6. No one has popped the question yet to me, but loved hearing your story!

  7. oh I just got goosebumps! I love this story, mushy is fine by me!

  8. I LOVE that story!

Let's talk it out