My Best Friend’s Queso

It’s been very Mexican around this blog lately, so Feliz Navidad! HaHaHa

One of my best friends, Lindsey gave me this recipe for chilli con queso dip. Our crew of friends just call it queso. I made a few healthy shortcuts to this recipe from its original. I prepped out 2 batches for our Bad Sweater Party “just in case” and ended up going through both in under 2 hours!

Here’s Lindsey’s original recipe:
1 package of cream cheese
1 can of Hormel chilli with beans
1 jar of salsa
1 bag of shredded Mexican cheese

Here’s my tweak:

1 package fat free cream cheese

1 can Hormel 98% fat free turkey chilli (no beans)

1 jar salsa

1 bag fat free mexican cheese

Bake at 350 for about 20 minutes or until it starts to bubble. Serve with tortilla chips.

10 responses to “My Best Friend’s Queso

  1. Pingback: Skinny Pizza Dip | Finding Silver Linings

  2. You know your addicted when you walk to stop & shop late at night , in the rain for queso!!!

  3. yummy mindy

  4. I love love love mexican food and sometimes indulge and get that white queso dip at the restaurants. But I love your healthier version of queso. And I didn’t know they make Hormel turkey chili! Yea, maybe that means I can eat more of it, LOL!!!

    Have a fun weekend!

  5. Oh yum! I LOVE mexican food, this would be a great party dish!

    • Yep! I once was on a strict queso only diet, and ate it breakfast lunch and dinner. Not kidding. When I was first introduced to this recipe. I used to make love to it. I’d prep a batch and scoop out a bunch, nuke it, and gorge. Hmmm, I actually lost weight when I did that. LOL! Yeah, I’m a bit off track, but, it rocks as a party food!
      xo
      Mindy

  6. I’m going to an ugly sweater party and supposed to bring a dish actually tomorrow. Maybe I’ll look into this. 🙂

Let's talk it out