Crack Pie. Wow.

Yes my friends. Crack Pie. David Chang’s famous Momofuku restaurant has produced a dessert that has celebs like Anderson Cooper (and everyone else) shelling out $44 for a pie?! That’s if you live in NYC.  Okay I’m lying.  You can also have access to this party in your mouth for $103 if you so to Angelenos in LA.  They ship it there.  MMMMkay?

What is it you ask?   I ate it when my mom & I hit up Ma Peche in Manhattan and we both became believers (see that post here).   We clinked our forks together, and took a bite.  Oh! That first bite!  It doesn’t look like much, when it was baking, it didn’t really smell like you’d sell your dog for a slice (sorry, Rocco!  I’m trying to make a point here). That first bite made me understand that the name “Crack Pie” is not a coincidence.  I’ve been dreaming about it ever since. What the heck is it you ask….Pastry chef Christina Tosi invented this phenomenon. It’s a twist on Chess pie -more common in the southern states of the USA which originated in none other than The Joy Of Cooking using commonly found pantry items like heavy cream, eggs, butter (lots and lots of butter) and brown sugar among a few ingredients. 

I scoured the Internet like a psycho until I found it.  I have the recipe for CRACK PIE!  See Martha Stewart play the wolf in sheep’s clothing and hijack the recipe from these chef’s here

One week after I tried it, I recreated it in my own kitchen. 

Here’s how:

Preheat the oven to 350. You’re supposed to line a baking sheet with parchment but I just used nonstick spray, & set aside. This recipe makes two 10″ pies, or in my case a 9″ pie  & an 11″ tart.  

TO MAKE THE OAT COOKIE: 

1/2 c unsalted butter softened

1/2c lt brown sugar

3 T granulated sugar

1 large egg

1/3c all purpose flour

1/3 old fashioned oats

1/8t baking soda

1/8t baking powder

1/4t salt

mix well.

Spread dough evenly on to your baking sheet & bake until golden brown. 10 to 15 minutes. Remove from oven and let it cool slightly.

Reduce oven temperature to 325.

TO MAKE THE CRUST:

Oat cookie crumbs

1/4c unsalted butter softened

1T lt brown sugar

1/8t salt

Using my hands, I crumbled the large oat cookie into a bowl, along with all of the other ingredients. Toss until well combined.

Divide mixture in half and press each half into a pie pan.

FOR THE FILLING:

3/4c granulated sugar

3/4c lt brown sugar

1/4t salt

2T milk powder

1c unsalted butter melted

3/4c heavy cream

1/4t vanilla extract

8 large egg yolks

confectioners’ sugar for dusting

Whisk together sugars, salt, & milk powder breaking up any lumps. Whisk in butter, heavy cream, and vanilla until well combined. Lastly, whisk in yolks until just combined.

Bake until filling is kind of set about 15 minutes.  Reduce the heat to 310 and continue baking until they appear golden brown.  Remove from oven and let them cool slightly. 

This part is very difficult.

Place pies in refrigerator until cool.  You will be temped to try as soon as possible.

 I did it **embarrassed face** .  Here is one pie’s remains this morning…

This pie is meant to be served chilled or in my opinion tastes best at room temperature. 

Dust with confectioners’ sugar when ready to serve!

There you have it.  The recipe for the best thing I’ve ever eaten.  It is not for the faint of heart.  Literally.  It’s loaded with every bad-for-you ingredient.  It is complete nirvana.

19 responses to “Crack Pie. Wow.

  1. Pingback: Compost Cookies | Finding Silver Linings

  2. I need that pie in my life.

    That.is.all.

    T.

  3. Pingback: Mindy Eats Kath’s Oatmeal | Finding Silver Linings

  4. OMG I have this recipe! I clipped it out of a newspaper last year and have intended to make it, but have err, postponed it until I improve my cooking skills. 😉 I started with cornbread, have made banana muffins and chocolate cake, and think that I will try this out by the end of summer.

    Okay, wait, I just noticed that your version of Momofuku’s Crack Pie is waaaaaaaaaaaaay easier than the newspaper clipping I have. You’re a Godsend! The recipe I have requires that you make both the crust and the filling from scratch, and it literally sounds like half a day’s work.

  5. Pingback: Pie so good, it’s a sin against God…. « Amy's Gourmet Cupboard

  6. Pingback: Pie Hangover. Somebody Check Me In To The Betty Crocker Clininc! | Finding Silver Linings

  7. Oooh that looks beautiful Mindy! Thanks for the recipe!

  8. Oh that looks good, but so bad for you. I think I would make a smaller version, because I would feel so guilty to have an entire pie in my vicinity. Ah, food guilt.

  9. Ogh my foodness that looks so good. I can’t even imagine how tastey it is. Nomtastic.

  10. pawsitivelife

    When ever I see heavy cream I have a heavy intake of air. I tried to cup with ligther cream a few times-disaster

  11. Haha! We need to have a treat once in a while! This looks DELISH! Thanks for the recipe!

    Kate
    http://thetuliptimes.blogspot.com/

  12. I wonder what that pie tastes like, lol. I can’t imagine what the flavor is.

    Oh! I e-mailed you yesterday… did you get the g/c code?

  13. MIN!!! Was it GOOD?????????? I want some!

Let's talk it out