Friends Don’t Let Friends Drink & Bake.

Alright. 

So this post started off as a comical story of an art teacher that bribes her students to behave with cookies (no names will be mentioned 😉 ).  I was doing the old step-by-step rainbow chocolate chip cookie recipe bit.  It was going well.  I was testing out Alton Brown from Food Network’s  chocolate chip cookie recipe called “The Chewy”.   I was putting my own spin on it  and using candies in the dough.

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

  • 8 ounces unsalted butter
  • 12 ounces bread flour
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 ounces granulated sugar
  • 8 ounces light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1 ounce whole milk
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 12 ounces semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

Melt the butter in a 2-quart saucepan over low heat. Set aside to cool slightly.

Sift together the flour, salt and baking soda onto a paper plate. Pour the butter into your stand mixer’s work bowl. Add the sugar and brown sugar and beat with the paddle attachment on medium speed for 2 minutes.

Meanwhile, whisk together the whole egg, the egg yolk, milk and vanilla extract in a measuring cup. Reduce the mixer speed and slowly add the egg mixture. Mix until thoroughly combined, about 30 seconds.

Using the paper plate as a slide, gradually integrate the dry ingredients, stopping a couple of times to scrape down the sides of the bowl. Once the flour is worked in, drop the speed to “stir” and add the chocolate chips. Chill the dough for 1 hour.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F and place racks in the top third and bottom third of the oven.

Scoop the dough into 1 1/2-ounce portions onto parchment-lined half sheet pans, 6 cookies per sheet. Bake 2 sheets at a time for 15 minutes, rotating the pans halfway through. Remove from the oven, slide the parchment with the cookies onto a cooling rack and wait at least 5 minutes before devouring.

****************************

 

When I put the dough in the fridge to cool off, I thought I’d sip a glass of cabernet to pass the time.  Frantically searching my house  Casually scoping out my kitchen, I couldn’t find our corkscrew anywhere! 

I improvised and found something close to a corkscrew. 

 

 

A screw driver. 

 

I have no shame in   sharing this story or photographing it obviously.  *sigh*  Way to make mom proud, Min!

I tried to get the cork out and it was not happening.  I hatched a brilliant plan to push the cork into the bottle instead. 

(stop laughing)

I turned into Wolverine and stabbed the screwdriver through the cork.

 

 

This action cause red wine to spurt out everywhere.  No pictures were taken of the purple mess because I was trying to wipe up the puddles before a certain 8 pound maltese got wasted.  However, the screwdriver served its purpose.

 

I plopped the cookie dough onto the cookie sheet and popped them into the oven.  5 minutes later, I heard the smoke alarm go off.  This is what came out of my oven.

 

Apparently red wine makes me impatient. I don’t think I let the dough chill long enough. 

I’ll try this one again without the vino. 

Team Cabernet: 1                  Team Mindy: zip

11 responses to “Friends Don’t Let Friends Drink & Bake.

  1. Pingback: How To Add Texture To A Room For $2 | Finding Silver Linings

  2. OMG! This post was hilarious on my phone without loading the pictures, but your pictures just had me literally DYING of laughter!!! NICE! Hopefully the wine was still yummy!

  3. Believe it or not.. I would have eaten those!

  4. What an adventure Mindy hahahaha!

  5. BAHAHA. This is hilarious. I nearly just died laughing. I am forever burning things weather I’m drinking or not.

  6. OH NO! Your faces are priceless. This is why I never want to start sipping while having a dinner party until after I’ve completed the meal. I’ve burned so much garlic not paying attention because the wine or cocktails were flowing too easily before hand. Thank you for the tip, the warning and the public service announcement girl! ox

  7. I’m horrible in the kitchen so excuse the dumb question but..why would MORE butter cause burning?

  8. I think you are in the running to be the next Iron Chef! 🙂

  9. Haha love the faces you’re pulling 🙂

  10. Az. Small Business Network

    OMG you are too funny!

    Leila

  11. OMFG best post over. Although I will admit, I was kinda hoping for a cabernet soaked pic of Rocco, that would be cute….ok and borderline in need of a call to animal protection services. You must try the recipe out again….and send me some of course. Kidding….kinda! 🙂

Let's talk it out