DIY Clothespin Christmas Card Display

Last December was our 2nd month in our first (and current) home.  In other words, we had nothing.  This included a place to display our Christmas cards.  This is what I came up with last year since the only things we had hanging on our walls were 2 really big screws.

*Hangs head in embarassment*

I literally didn’t even have thread or twine.  I was too lazy to go buy it, and I ended up using dental floss to hang my Christmas cards…DENTAL FLOSS! Not only was I not ashamed to post about the fact that I used it, I even make an attempt to justify it.  Shameless people, shameless.

See that dazzling post by clicking here.

Many things have changed since then, thankfully.  Most for the better.  This year’s Christmas card display also costed me nothing but a few minutes (and I still had my dignity afterward).  I’ve seen this project before and thought it was cute so I gave it a whirl since I had all of the materials.

I had the empty frame that I’ve been hoarding saving for the perfect project. I actually hid this because Mr. FSL wanted to throw it out so many times…shhh!

Next, I swiped a few thumbtacks from our cork board and the spool of jute twine that I used to make this wreath.

I tied a knot at the end of the twine and tacked it into the back.

I spaced the 5 rows pretty evenly, and was ready to display my cards & photos using old clothespins.

I made this the night before our Annual Ugly Sweater Party (which will be recapped next week) so instead of cards, I hung up photos from last year’s party.

When the party was over, I took most of those down and put up our cards.

Free & Easy!

15 responses to “DIY Clothespin Christmas Card Display

  1. Pingback: Send Us a Card, We'll Cut It Up! (what to do with holiday cards) - Design Build LoveDesign Build Love

  2. ok Mindy… I might be “jocking” your style soon with this one… Hopefully I can get it done soon!!! 🙂

  3. charming feels like home and shows your pride of the christmas cards come see what I shared at http://shopannies.blogspot.com

  4. Love it! Thank you so much for sharing this creative idea with us at Inspiration Friday this week!
    Vanessa

  5. Very Cute idea! Thanks,Deidre~

  6. Pingback: I still send out Christmas cards, don’t you? | Inside Out Cafe

  7. Cute idea! I need to do something. Mine are thrown in a basket with my recipe magazines. Oops! I’m still dying at your dental floss. So resourceful!

  8. Love it!!!! Nice Min!

  9. Great Idea!

  10. I love this idea! I have an old frame that I haven’t known what to do with..this is perfect!

Let's talk it out