Midnight dog grooming, wait, what?

Okay. I know what you are all thinking. Weird! Well in case you did not know this, my bff dog Rocco is a Maltese. This breed of dog does not have fur. They have hair that just keeps growing and growing (even between his toes). Their hair is very very fine and knots and mats easily (he started to get dreadlocks–not kidding mon). I have been meaning to get him groomed, but the $50 never appeared in my purse and I procrastinated on calling Poochies Parlor (Rocco’s hair stylist :P).

Since Rock sleeps in bed with us, I was falling asleep and petting him. I felt his nappy dreads, and I felt like a horrible dog mommy. It was eleven o’clock. I sprung out of bed in my night-shirt and underoos, grabbed the pup and a pair of scissors and headed into the bathroom. Poor Wee Dog entered the bathroom like this

After I had an Edward Scissor Hands moment, we emerged from the bathroom about 25 minutes later. He was freshly cut, and I could finally sleep!

Sweet Relief! Kind of a hack job, but hey, what do you expect when you cut your dog’s hair with one eye open?!

23 responses to “Midnight dog grooming, wait, what?

  1. Pingback: Ode to my dog | Finding Silver Linings

  2. Crazy dog mama!! Rocco is adorable 😉

  3. Lindsey Cerrone

    I would have come over and cut is hair!

  4. oh my god! rocco looked more gnarly than i thought! lol pretty bad hack job i must say but he’s cleaner than peanut! play date soon!

  5. I just died at the cuteness. Rocco pics will ALWAYS make me leave comments. HA!

    I think you did a great job!

    I love that he’s totally posing for you btw!

  6. So precious!!!!!

    ohmyohme.com

  7. How funny! Looks good now.

  8. that is COMICAL!!!!! i love Rocco! just to let everyone know, he is the BEST dog anyone could ask for. such a great disposition. (just like his Mom!)

  9. haha! I laughed out loud through this post! Nice haircut though!

    Where did you get the rug in front of your sink?? I reeeally like it 🙂

    • $17 at Ikea. Ikea has some really nice rugs for cheap. This is actually our 2nd time buying this very rug. The first time it got ruined because I spilled my still gooey pecan pie all over it from Thanksgiving. I found it in the last chance dept. and got it for $5 off because it didn’t come in a plastic case. Go figure.
      xo
      Mindy

  10. omg wee dog so cute your a good mommy.lol

  11. Nicolle Miranda

    Wow he was a ratty mess! Save yourself the $$ and groom him yourself. I think you did a good job!

  12. OMG this is hilarious~You got up, outta bed to do this! Can’t say that I blame you, I would have done the same thing.
    Rocco looks cool, he’s got swagger now!

Let's talk it out