Looking Back…What A Rockin’ Year!

Today is my last day of school!!! Actually, it’s a half day 🙂  I am uber psyched!  Every time I reach the end of something, I reflect.  I reflect to see what I’ve learned, what I could do better next time, and how I’ve grown as a person from the experience.

As I look back,  it was a great year for me.  I have so much to be thankful for.

Here’s my last year in review…

June 2010: I had my bridal shower, bachelorette party, and found out our offer was accepted on our first house! Click here & here to see what our house looked like before we bought it.

July 2010: I went from Mindy Mac to Mindy P!  I married my best friend July 30th. See pics of that here. We paid a honeymoon visit to Negril, Jamaica.

August 2010: I turned 28, moved into my in law’s house and gained 8 pounds because my mother-in-law is an amazing cook!!  Click here for her crockpot chicken & potatoes recipe.

September 2010:  We finally closed on our house!!!

October 2011:  We moved in!!! Mr.FSL turned 32.  His vineyard birthday party is where we snapped this picture…


November 2010: November 1st was the inaugural post (about jalapeno infused tequila no less, lol! See my first post here).  I got my wisdom teeth pulled. We hosted our first family holiday at casa FSL!  I made my first Thanksgiving turkey!! (Hear about that mess new experience here)

December 2010: Our first married Christmas in our new home!  Instead of a housewarming party, we had a “Bad Christmas Sweater Party” and made a shot-ski!  Hear all about that crazy time here.

January 2011: The snowiest winter on record for CT! Actually, there was so much snow, our roof that extended over our beck deck (which extends the entire length of the house) collapsed!  Hear about that craziness here. Here’s a shot of my husband and his dad & our borrowed snow blower on the back deck.  That lovely metal piece in the background used to be our roof 😦

February 2011:  We took a much needed vacation to Salt Lake City, Utah!  We went skiing on some of the most beautiful terrain & ate at the oldest saloon in the state! Get the scoop on that trip here, here, and here.

March 2011: We threw our first rager!  About 100 people came to our house for a surprise party.  We had the pizza truck & a comedian, great time.  I got the DIY itch & painted a chalkboard wall in our kitchen & decorated it for the occasion. I drew Yankee Stadium & a pic of the b-day boy on it…

April 2011: My chicken tortilla soup recipe was featured by Oxygen Magazine!!  I was sooo excited, it’s my fitness bible (get the recipe for that here)! My husband & I did a photo shoot in a haunted opera house (see those pics & the insane video here)  My craigslist desk makeover was “Freshly Pressed” and is still the most popular post on Finding Silver Linings to date.  I was stoked and amazed that I was also a  “Pop Pressed” featured blogger!  Crazy!!!

Are you kidding?! I was so excited!

May 2011:  My mom & I had the best Mother’s Day ever!  We hit up Manhattan for a spa day, made it on TV, and ate at one of the best restaurants in the country!! (Hear all about it here).  I started my vegetable garden!

June 2011:  Here we are! Finally feeling settled at our house.  Getting the hang of keeping up after laundry, cooking, cleaning, wife-ing, ya know, that whole thing.  All in all, what a wonderful year!  I can’t wait to see what summer vacation brings!  You all know I have a list of stuff to do!!

Sorry for the uber wordy post.  I guess I am feeling a bit nostalgic. Looking back does that to me.

Thanks for sticking around 🙂  I love you guys!!!

xoxo

Mindy

19 responses to “Looking Back…What A Rockin’ Year!

  1. Pingback: 1 Year Blogiversary!! (part 1) | Finding Silver Linings

  2. Pingback: 1 Year Blogiversary!! (part 1) | Finding Silver Linings

  3. Wow what an AWESOME year you have had!! Congratulations on your last day of school.

  4. Great year in review! Got me caught up pre-me reading your blog. 😛

  5. A) LOVE the new banner!
    B) You’ve had a fabulous year!
    C) The fact that you had an ugly Xmas sweater party makes me love you. I won the contest this year (the fact that I had an ugly Xmas moo moo didnt hurt either)
    D) What kind of eye makeup do you use?
    E) Hmmmm, think thats it!!

    • LOL! The party was a real hit. People wore fake mustaches, one sweater had real lights on it, we even had one guy bring a costume change! I need to look into this moomoo idea…. Click the tag in the side bar that says makeup to see my “essentials!”. Chanel Mat Lumiere foundation, L’Oreal Voluminous mascara, & Physician’s Formula Bronzer are my must have 3. I’ve discovered that wordpress allows you to choose an “featured image” for each post which becomes your banner for that particular post. I’m liking the newly discovered thingie too! LOL

  6. Happy last day of school! I teach, too, so I know what this day feels like!! Love the bad Christmas sweaters 🙂

  7. What a great post! What a great year! The picture of you rocking at the vineyard says it all!!

  8. Congrats Mindy, phew what a year! I love that wedding pic, b and w with shots of colour very cool! Looking forward to reading the next part of your journey 🙂

  9. #1- heck ya for Nate Berkus!!!!!!!!! #2- that chalk board in your kitchen is totally amazing and looked awesome painted for your party!!!!!!!!!! #3- looks like you had an amazing year (as evidenced by all your gorgeous photos)!

  10. Keep on rockin’ girl! 🙂

  11. WOW! I’d say that’s beyond a rockin’ year! What great things to look back on 😉 and I have to say the wedding photo is gorgeous and the Christmas photo…well those are some of the ugliest sweaters I’ve ever seen 😉

  12. I enjoyed looking back with you, Min. Great post. I look forward to the first full summer in your new home, too! I know it will be great and full of fun!
    xoxoxo

  13. Oh my god. My blog reader shows the first photo with the beginning and seriously, I love love love your wedding photos. Actually I’m just in love with all your photos. You are gorgeous. I’m glad your year was so great. It looks like the bomb.com.

Let's talk it out