HomeGoods Throwdown!

I was in HomeGoods this past weekend looking for a large mirror for one of the many bare walls in our house.  I was also looking for an interesting lamp to put on the table that the new mirror would be above.   I was looking at a lamp very similar to this:

It was industrial and silver.  Perfect. I unplugged it and put it in my carriage.  I put it back on the shelf to first find the mirror.  If the mirror I ended up getting was a different style, I’d need a different lamp (Yes, I know, I’m a fickle pickle). My thinking was, large item first then smaller accessories.  Stupid.  A soon as I put it back, some girl snatched it up, and put it in her cart!

**DING DING**

Round 1

I followed this poor girl and her mom around the store like Mary’s Little Lamb, hoping that she would change her mind and put it back.  An hour later, I saw the mom without the lamp in her carriage!  I asked her if she put it back because I NEEDED it. She nicely told me her daughter had it in her cart.  Grrrrr. I didn’t sleep that night.

*DING DING* 

Round 2

This part of the story is sad.  I swear, I still feel like throwing myself on the ground and kicking my legs like a full blown tantrum fit for a 2-year-old.  I spotted a mirror that I loved, but I wasn’t sure if it would work above the table.   I searched the store to find a table that resembled my table at home.  I wanted to get a better idea of what it would look like.  Here’s me trying to figure it out.  I need help.  Seriously.  It was so heavy I look like I’m going to topple over!

Yeah. That's me. The weirdo behind the mirror.

 

I was so revved up from the lamp “stalking situation”.  I wasn’t sure if the mirror would “go” in  my already wood heavy dining room.  I strategically hid the giant mirror, just in case I went back the following day to buy it.  All along I was thinking nobody would find buy it.

Stupid. 

Stupid.

I searched online for something similar to put into a moodboard.  I found the exact mirror on Restoration Hardware for $395 AKA $300 more than what I would have paid at HOmeGoods.  UGH!  I also saw it displayed prominently on the dining room wall of Entourage’s Adrian Grenier’s house. 

Exhibit A:

{IMG from re-nest.com}

I made this moodboard on mydeco.com (which, by the way is the coolest site I’ve found in the past week) and decided it was perfect! 

I went back a day & a half later.  I searched every corner of the store.  I asked the worker if he’s seen it anywhere.  He told me he put it back with the mirrors because it was in a weird spot (hiding under some colorful throw blankets 😉 ).  It was gone. 

I’m so sad.  I called every HomeGoods in the tri-state area & nobody had it.  So so sad.

18 responses to “HomeGoods Throwdown!

  1. Pingback: A Second Chance…Again!! | Finding Silver Linings

  2. Pingback: My Vacuum Sucks. | Finding Silver Linings

  3. Pingback: Our Entryway Wall Moodboard | Finding Silver Linings

  4. Lindsey Cerrone

    I had a basket throw down at Target once lol! I bought two baskets for a shelf, when I got home I realized I needed one more, so a few days later I went back to get another one and a lady had the last two in her hand, I was so irritated. I decided I was gonna make her change her mind so I picked up the same basket in a different color and was like I love theses baskets they would be perfect on my table……. I’ll come back for them, and she was totally ease dropping in on my convo. I planted the seed and walked away, pretending to go down other isles, but I was really stalking her! sure enough I watched her leave the isle from a far,and I went back down the isle and she put back the basket I wanted and got the other one I pretended to want lol, my friend was like how did you do that? stick with me kid I would have got you that lamp!!!

  5. Awww, boo……so sorry for you dear…. 😦

  6. I feel for you Mindy, that’s total shopping agony. I’ve had that happen so many times, TJMaxx especially. I figure eh, I’ll come back if I really like. Inevitably I can never find it. And I myself have had near hissy fits inside Marshalls, I mean really it was mine mentally, and such a crushing loss when it’s gone. I shed a shopping tear for you Mindy. :’-(

  7. oh my gosh! don’t you hate it when that happens??? that mirror is AWESOME! i may have to check our homegoods for something similar! that’s funny that the guy said it was in a “weird” place! HA! 🙂

  8. Awe girl-I’m so sorry they didn’t have it again. I hide things that I want to buy later too! Now I just buy them and if I don’t like it-it gets returned.

  9. I hate when this happens!!!! This is why I can’t go shopping at TJMaxx unless I have spending money because I know that I will find something and if I can’t purchase it then and there I will end up never getting it.

    My hope is that they restock for you ASAP!!!

  10. 😦 I hate it when it happens to me…and that’s almost always…I always look at stuff and then think I’ll come back and get them…and then when I’m back, it’s gone….I hope you’ll find both the items soon…

  11. Girl you should have bought it at first sight! You can always return it if it doesn’t work. Sorry both things were gone when you wanted them. I hate when that happens 🙂

    • I know. I almost had a meltdown when I went back & nothing was there! The poor shelf stocking guy’s face was priceless when I started to get flustered! LOL! Oh well, easy come, easy go. I’ll find something else. Maybe it would have been too much wood for that room. Yeah, I’ll just keep saying it.
      xo
      Mindy

Let's talk it out