Holiday decorations on a budget

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

Since tomorrow is December first, I thought I’d get in the holiday spirit by snazzing up our house. I really wanted to go all out this year since it is our first married Christmas (and in our first home). My mom always told me I had champagne taste on a beer budget.

That doesn’t mean I have to settle for beer though. It just means I have to think outside the box and get creative if I want the bubbly!

Here’s what I came up with so far…

I kept the sparkly taper candles from Thanksgiving’s window decorations, I also kept the stack of red books, I just split them into 2 piles to create a sense of balance. My mother bought me the “Happy Holidays” star sign.  This whole thing costed us $0. Sweet. Thanks MOM!

The front door frame has had the pine tree garland up for a few weeks along with the white glass pillar candles.  This sign was in our kitchen.  I swapped it out with the horseshoe that used to be there because the green words  felt more warm and holiday-ish.

I moved the acorn/candle centerpiece and placed a pretty platter I got from my bridal shower.  I tossed in a few glittery red ornaments ($3.99 for a bucket of them at Expect Discounts).  My grandmother knows I have a strange fondness for table runners (don’t ask) so she gave me this taupe-y green one. The table’s looking glitzy for $3.99.

Just a few days ago this table was our makeshift beverage buffet.  Today, it’s our metallic Winter display.  I snatched up this brass & glass (that rhymes!) crystal for $3.99 at Expect Discounts a month ago. The small votive holders and the silver reindeer were a gift from my mama (she’s awesome isn’t she?!).

I am completely obsessed with these silver statues!


The lamps have been on that table for a while. We had these 3 mirrors, and I added the 2 white taper candles from our bedroom. The “PEACE” sign was a housewarming gift from my aunt, and the red glass candle holder was a gift from my mother-in-law. (nice looking buffet decor for free)


I found this gold lighted tree at The Christmas Tree Shop (kind of funny!) for $2.00!

A couple of my favorite bloggers over at YoungHouseLove.com posted this today!  Great minds think alike!  These make a cute DIY gift or can be a freebie decoration!  Sweet! 

Anyone have a way to add some holiday cheer on the cheap? Let me know!!!

10 responses to “Holiday decorations on a budget

  1. Pingback: The Set Up | Finding Silver Linings

  2. I love the glass bowl with red decorations in it and I want that tree in the corner of the bathroom!

  3. Pingback: 10 Things I want to decorate my house with | Finding Silver Linings

  4. I love your clean and modern decorating style! I really just want to throw out my old xmas decor (mostly hand-me-downs) and get all new stuff after this season ends. I was actually at Jo-Ann Fabrics today and they had some really nice stuff all 50% off already.

    • Thanks! I wish I started shopping for decorations last year, but we were living with our parents to save $ for the wedding/someday house. Jo-Ann Fabrics has some great things so does Michaels Crafts, plus they ALWAYS have 40% off coupons. TJ Maxx and HomeGoods have really nice stuff too. Sometimes hand-me-downs are nice! If they’re looking ratty, never underestimate the power of a little silver spray paint!
      xo
      Mindy

  5. SIMPLY BEAUTIFUL!

  6. Everything looks beautiful! I need to take a trip to The Christmas Tree Shop. I want one of those lighted trees!

Let's talk it out